Raw Girl in Japan

What’s the difference between an onion and a stick of celery? Kids don’t know…

Posted on: February 26, 2007

Over the last few weeks I have been reading reports that Children in th UK are the unhealthiest throughout Europe. Yesterday, there was an article stating British women are heavier than women in Europe. I am not at all surprised at this.

When I went home at Christmas I was shocked at the food people were putting into their trolleys when shopping. I watched people whizz past the veg and fruit section and dive straight for the canned stuff, things in packets and alcohol. Now, I know I was home at Christmas a time for indulgence (no comment here) but this mode of shopping simply isnt an annual event. It’s weekly.

Bringing it closer to home was my 2 year old nephew. A couple of days a week my mum looks after him while his parents are working. This beautiful little boy walks into nanny and grandads house with his Thomas backpack which has his food in it: spaghetti hoops, chocolate or beans and chocolate or even beans and sasauges. Not much variety and I was told it is no differently when at home. Apparently, mummy and daddy have no time to cook.

I was in shock.

Since returning to Japan my husband I I rented Jamie Oliver’s school dinners on dvd. A great program that went out in England that had Jamie Oliver reveal how shockingly crap school dinners are. His master plan was to go into schools and educate the kids in healthy nutritious food and persuade the government to feed (mind he pun) more money into the school dinner system to totally change it round.

At this point I must add, Mr Oliver is not a vegetarian, the dishes he creates are not vegetarian. Yet while I would never eat what he prepares I have full admiration for what he does and his dedication.

If you get the chance to see Jamies School Dinners, then please do so.

As everyone is talking at Al Gore’s ‘An Inconvenient Truth’ (and rightly so), people really should be doing the same about Jamie Oliver and his program.

It was later revealed that while introducing the nutritious, healthy menus some parents would wait at the school gates with ‘junk’ for their kids…WTF!!!

Today, I read of an 8 year old boy who is 15 stone. It’s causing controversy back home as this may be seen as a form of child abuse. If a parent starves a child the child is taken into care. What are the rules for overfeeding, allowing your child to eat junk…….or simply watching your 8 year old reach obesity and do nothing???

This sure has given me a few more ideas for the raw company I want to build…..

Leave a Reply

