Raw Girl in Japan

What Did I Find Today?????

Posted on: March 30, 2007

As I write this there are two, yes TWO durians sitting on my balcony. We went on another fruit run this afternoon and came across a fruit and veg market and found many wonderous delights. Of course mangos, rambutans, jackfruits, papayas. The list goes on. Unfortunately, my digital battery ran out, but I did take pics on my big funky camera for when I set up my website.

Back to the durians. Again cheap, can you guess how much. Bet you can’t – 120 baht for the two!!!! That’s like 4 dollars, 2 pounds and 440 yen. I pay 3000yen for one in Japan.

Another reason to move here.

My Food Today
Breakfast:
papaya, banana and pineapple chunks
Orange juice

Lunch
Mango

Dinner
Salad;tommies, cucumber, lettuce and carrots
Dragonfruit or Pitaya

There are three types of dragonfruit.
*Pink skin, white flesh
*Pink skin, pink flesh
*Yellow skin, white flesh.

As you can see from the pics below, mine was the first type.
It is high in vitamins and fibre, and apparently helps fight colon cancer and diabetes. It helps aid digestion and if consumed frequently helps asthma.

To be honest, they don’t have much of a taste -mildly sweet. I think it would go nicely with mango.
Even if you don’t like it, it sure is pretty to look at.
Before
After

Yoga
Had a bad headache this morning, lack of sleep, so no yoga today.

Jogging
After a swim, I put on my sneakers and went for my first jog since getting here. Ran for about 15 minutes on the beach. Running on sand is far from ideal, so I took a gentle pace.

Just don’t ask what I was listening to on my iPod!!

3 Responses to "What Did I Find Today?????"

Dragonfruit. How interesting. I’ve never seen one before. Thanks for sharing.
VW

They are beautiful to look at, such a vibrant pink.

hi there

hope u enjoy your trip in thailand. have u taken a look at their local market? Just to let you know that rambutan, longan, mangosteen and duku are in season. Melons are abundant too. yumm…

Leave a Reply

