Raw Girl in Japan

The end of another week….

Posted on: May 4, 2007

……how did that happen?

Went and met my hubby for lunch today, but again we were limited as to where we could eat. Surrounded by Chinese, Korean, Indian and junk food, we headed to subway for a salad. Mmmm you may think, salad. Hugely disappointing (not that i was surprised), iceberg lettuce, tomato, onion and cucumber. Next time I meet hubby for lunch I’m taking lunch with me, especially now that the weather is so nice. We can sit out and soak up the Vitamin D.

I just wish places here had salad bars. I know the produce wouldn’t be organic and would be somewhat limited, but it would be something. I was informed that Starbucks has a grapefruit and spinach salad as part of it’s summer campaign. I went and had a look. A couple of spinach leaves and a grapefruit segment or two does not a salad make! Should be grateful there is something that comes without fish or bacon bits.

After my vile salad I ventured into the supermarket, one I had never been to, to see what delights were available in the fruit and veg section.

You can tell it’s coming up to melon season. A fine display here: watermelon, cantaloupe, musk melon.

dsc01362.jpg

And this at 3000 yen.

dsc01364.jpg

The prices were way too high. I’ll wait till next month when the prices come down a little.

Came across this. Learn your veggies in English without pictures.

dsc01366.jpg

This got me thinking. My Japanese is shocking. I truely mean it. For someone who has been here over 7 years I am embarrassed at how bad it is. I have made the decision to take a weeks crash course to get beyond the basics, but I thought I would start introducing the Japanese for veggies and fruit on here too. That way we learn together and if you ever happen to find yourself wandering the streets of Japan, you will have some words to help you along your way.

Your Japanese course will start next week. Ok? My crash course starts in June.

Back to food. I bought myself some small mangos imported from the Philipines, and two mexican mangos. Also got myself two papayas.

Here’s the purchases. Oh. i also have a coconut.

dsc01375.jpg

And here’s a strange window display with fake coconuts. Sorry, I don’t get it!

dsc01367.jpg

Today i have munched on:
brekkie – banana
lunch – crap salad
dinner – will be a green smoothie

Not feeling too hungry to tell you the truth.

Yoga
This morning I worked on upper body strength and played with headstands, handstands and arm balances. Was fun, but made me hyper for the rest of the day.

Off into the kitchen to soak some almonds to make milk.

Bye
xxxx

1 Response to "The end of another week…."

Japanese. I’m game. Let’s go!
VW

Leave a Reply

