Raw Girl in Japan

Paradise Hits Japan

Posted on: October 26, 2007

How happy am I? Go on guess. I don’t think there is a word to describe how I am feeling at the moment.
I don’t know where to start, so much to tell.

I suppose the big news is that there is now a raw food restaurant in Tokyo. It is called Veggie Paradise and it’s in Yoyogi-uehara on the Odakyu Line. I’m going again next week and will get more information to put up here. Colin, if you are reading we should try and meet up?

I went along with my friend Marie who interviewed me for a newspaper (thank you Marie, you are wonderful). I know..me interviewed for a paper. My god!

What struck me first about the place was walking in and not detecting an ‘overcooked’. Everything was clean and fresh. You can see into the kitchen and it’s all orderly, no steam, no clanging of pots and pans.

I was in my element. How lovely it felt not having to ask about what was in the food, checking there were no hidden meat products. Was it vegan….the usual. Don’t expect me to visit any other restaurant in the metropolis again – Veggie Paradise is where I will be at.

dscf0472.jpg

interior.jpg

interiror-1.jpg

Will get more pictures when I go next week.

Last weekend saw the Earth Day Market in Yoyogi Park. It offers the chance for farmers to come together and sell their organic produce. Not only food was sold, but cruelty cosmestics, hemp and organic cotton clothing, oh and organic pet food. The turn-out was good, and from checking the website I think there could be another market early in November.

Prices were reasoanable, and there was a fair variety of veggie produce.

Yoyogi Park

earth-market-1.jpg

Veggies, veggies everywhere

veggies.jpg

veggies-2.jpg

yumminess.jpg

Kettle with a message

kettle-with-a-message.jpg

An Ideal World

no-nukes-more-hearts.jpg

We purchased a number of items, which have been used in salads and smoothies throughout the week. Really wish there was something like this weekly.

Now one thing that did annoy me was this deceitful advertising…..only beer was to be found. Don’t tease a mango whore…

deceitful-advertizingthey-sold-beer.jpg

Speaking of mangos, this leads me to Thailand. Yes, my return is just two weeks away.

I’ve rabbited on long enough today (Marie I used rabbited for you). I promise to you all to write more frequently, I will try daily just so you know what is happening in my raw yogic life. Still have lots to share, but will be easier to break it uo over the next few days.

Have a fabulous day
xxx

4 Responses to "Paradise Hits Japan"

hmm I thought I posted a comment the other day but it doesn’t seem to have worked 😦
I was so wrapped to have stumbled over your blog.
I live in Ebina. I changed to a vegan diet at the start of this year & recently have decided to try and dive into the raw diet.
Could you please post or email me more details of where to find the raw cafe in Yoyogi uehara, the hemp cafe in Kamakura….And also if you have more info about the upcoming earth market day I would be so greatful!!
I’ve been going crazy for months feeling like I’m the only person in this country wanting this type of lifestyle. Friends & collegues think I’m insane…..You are my SAVIOUR!!!!!!
XXX from your new regular reader!

Hi Sarah – Many thanks for stopping by. Have just sent you an email.

Always love it when someone decides to change their diet and get in touch with nature. A big step, but please do not think you are on your own.

Love, love
Em
x

hi em,
great blog. knew it was you when i saw the “avocado girl in japan”… not sure why, but just thought of you πŸ™‚

hope you are feeling better. i didn’t know you were so under the weather at gina’s. poor thing. hang in there and happy packing! bet you can’t wait!
btw, made the CD for you and will put it in your box when i go down there (hopefully this week!)
shanti hugs,
som

Hello,

My name is Prabhu, I work with Dhrumil at welikeitraw.com

We’re collecting the contact emails of people in the raw food community and I was hoping you could send me yours. Would you mind shoot me an email at prabhu@dboost.com

The reason I’m asking for it is that Dhrumil and the team at We Like It Raw are trying to unite all the bloggers with a common sub-site.

Thanks!
Prabhu

Leave a Reply

