Raw Girl in Japan

Angels

Posted on: December 22, 2008

Everyday I choose an angel card. Have been doing so for over a year now. When I travel I take them with me. They speak to me. I learn from them. I like to flick through the pack sometimes and just look at the messages and focus on the pictures. I have a particular way of choosing my daily angel – the way I wish to keep secret, but there is one card that seems to come to me more often than the others and this really has helped me decide on my next venture. A venture essential to yoga, without it there is no yoga. More will be told in my New Year post.

Daily Munchings (wheatgrass and spirulina had run out this morning)

Before practice – 6.00am – MSM in water

Breakfast (10-ish) – Coconut (straight after my practice), 1 banana, Pineapple, ginger and coriander juice (amazing)

Lunch – (2.30-ih) – Apple, celery, carrot and parsley juice – perfect 

Dinner (6.00- ish) green salad and avocado

Am finishing eating before 7, making sure my body has time to digest prior to sleep.

My practice

I felt strong, connected. really flowed with the breath today. Hadn’t felt this strong for a long time. Yes, I have asanas to keep working deeper in, but the natural heat here really helps the body organically melt into a pose, while the muscles stay alive. 

I try and spend more than five breaths in poses where my body needs to open. Sometimes if I’m loving a pose I will spend longer in it. The mysore practice is a self practice. Work with where your body is at. I have never understood why people zoom their way through. Surely they are missing the beauty of the practice. As a teacher, I also listen to my body so I know how to explain deeper details of sensations arising to my students.

Every time I come to my mat I fall in love with yoga a little bit more.

Other things

The food at Yoga Thailand is vegetarian and 98% vegan. Low sugar, low fat. Healthy, organic produce. The first year I came here I was toying with becoming vegan (having been vegetarian for 20 years). The next time I was here I was more or less raw, so the staff would allow me to use the kitchen and use the fruit and veggies to make whatever I wanted. Now with the new place, (and because I am frequently here I think), the chef is playing with some raw recipes, which I have been asked to sample – of course I am happy to oblige. I have already sampled a soup, which was lovely just recommended adding a little bit of tumeric to add a bit of ZING. 

So if anyone fancies a yoga retreat, but are worried about food, please know that Yoga Thailand will accommodate your needs.

I need to sleep now. Up early to meditate and listen to my angel before practice.

xxx 


3 Responses to "Angels"

Hey Raw Girl in Japan. We should meet. I want to visit Japan and you should come to Miami

That would be wonderful.
Hope you are well beautiful girl.
xxx

Angel cards!
It almost brought a tear to my eye. My mom picks one for me every time we skype. I being in Japan and her in my native Canada. Thank You for sharing.

I’m really looking forward to hearing about the next step in your yoga venture. I am looking to go and study Ashtanga in Bungalore with Master Ji. Do you have any other recommendations for schools in India other than Mysore and Bungalore?

Thank you so much for your wonderful blog.
All the best to you for the New Year.

Love & Warmth,

Gabrielle

http://www.triedtastedserved.com

Leave a Reply

